You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Sports require a great deal of strength, and this can be, on the one hand, physical or, on the other hand, mental. A recurring argument involves a number of people who view physical strength as crucial for triumph in sport, whereas others are of the opinion that mental strength is more significant. This essay addresses both views and states my opinion.

Firstly, physical strength is needed because many sports involve exerting energy, such as football, which requires a lot of running; weightlifting, which involves using the muscles to lift heavy weights; and swimming, which, while it might seem easy and effortless, involves a lot of physical training, as the water current also pushes back against the swimmer. Because of this, some people believe that if an athlete cannot physically overpower another, they do not have an advantage. Therefore, they hold the viewpoint that physicality is most important for success in sports.

In contrast, mental strength, often overlooked, is necessary because mentality is necessary for daily activities and even more so in sports, as a huge part of success and participation is believing in oneself. Additionally, mental strength also keeps people going when all other factors may be pointing to failure. For example, in the 2025 Roland Garros tennis tournament, the winner, Carlos Alcaraz, was on the verge of losing multiple times but persevered through a strong mentality and ended up the victor; this was no small feat and could not have been achieved without mental strength. For this reason, many believe mental strength is more important for achieving success.

In my opinion, physical strength is the most important, since a majority of sports are physical and there needs to be an upper hand over opponents, which would lead to success.

In conclusion, although physical strength should be worked on to have an advantage over opponents, mental strength should also see more time and effort being put into it. However, without physical strength, most sports cannot be participated in.