You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

An increasing rate of obesity in children has been concerning. This phenomenon happens not only in developed countries where access to foods are abundant, but also in developing countries where other malnutrition problems such as underweight and wasting are also a major problem. This essay will discuss the possible causes of childhood obesity and what measures can be taken by both citizens and government bodies to prevent this.

One of the underlying causes of overweight in children is the transitioning trend from consuming traditional whole foods to instant ultra-processed foods. Ultra-processed foods are mostly high in sugar, fats, and salt. Consuming this type of food frequently can results in a surplus of calorie, a condition where our body get too much energy than needed. In contrast, whole foods such as vegetables, fruits, and whole grains contain lower calories and higher vitamins and minerals that are beneficial to children’s health. For example, children who eat candies and chips more often will consume higher calories than those who eat fruits and lean meat. These excess calories will be metabolized and stored as fats in our cells thus increasing our weight and fat mass.

Another possible reason for the rise in children obesity is the advancement of technology. These days, children stay indoor a lot more than a couple of decades before. This resulted in the lack of physical activity done by children and an increase in sedentary lifestyle. When children rarely move and exercise, they will burn less calories than they are supposed to. In time, more and more fat will be stored causing their weight to be heavier.

To prevent children obesity to keep increasing, a couple of strategies can be implemented. The first one is to raise awareness and educate children, and parents especially, regarding healthy eating and the importance of physical activity. The second solution is to tighten regulations on the distribution of commercialized instant foods such as snacks and fast food chain restaurants. This specific solution can only be done by government, so their role is preventing this problem is very crucial.

In conclusion, overweight in children is a major problem that needs to be tackled. Sedentary lifestyle and high consumption in ultra-processed foods contribute to the rise in children’s weight. Education on healthy foods, exercise, and regulations of fast foods can be a solution to decrease obesity in children.