You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Most of the archaeological ventures such as museums and historical hotspots are mainly visited by tourists and not by residents of the surrounding neighbourhood. This is because people neither recognize nor have the interest to explore them in their own town or city. In order to attract visitors from the local area government must improve advertisements, accessibility to all structures within the vicinity and establish more sites for people to spend time with their family and friends.

The major reason for local people to not visit historical sites within their reach is the absence of interest. This could be due to the fact that people don’t recognize the cultural value of such places within their neighbourhood, which might be because today’s education system teaches students to travel to another state or country for job opportunities, thereby sculpting the minds of younger ones to show no signs of eagerness to exploit museums and historical sites in their place of residence. As a result, only tourists from other cultural and religious backgrounds find them astonishing.

Despite these reasons, various measures can be taken by our government to increase the local crowd. The most significant measure is to approve advertisements and campaigns to educate the importance of such places. For example, by creating social media pages and broadcasting advertisements on television, the chances of attracting local people will rise. Moreover, by providing accessibility facilities such as electric cars and bikes to roam around the place allows people to visit them much frequently since it reduces walking throughout the entire area. Further, people must want to spend their quality time in these places. This can be done by installing food stalls and games that attract many kids and families to these places.

In conclusion, neglecting historical sites is a backfall in our traditional understanding. It is therefore essential for the government to take the necessary steps to promote its visit. In my opinion, governments must invest more on such historical monuments to increase the number of visits.