You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, tourists are known to dominate several museums and historical destinations rather than local residents who prefer not to engage in such. This is due to the fact that not only is the entrance fee relatively too pricy for the citizens to pay, but also people are unaware of the existence of these sites. Government can opt to lower the charges for natives as well as advertise and create awareness regarding these places.

To start off, some of these museums and historical sites are unknown to the majority of the locals in addition to their entry rate being highly priced quite thus unaffordable to them. It is an interesting fact that not many citizens are aware that their country hosts ancient artefacts: old pottery and paintings in some museums and historical sites. As a result, locals will not frequent them as compared to tourists who prepare in advance by further indulging in extensive research on the country, they intend to visit thus they have the knowledge and interest. Moreover, the foreign currency for most tourists holds more value than the local currency which leads to them easily spending lavishly and affording the entrance fees which the natives may necessarily not.

Furthermore, the government can charge lower rates for natives as well as sensitising and raising public awareness of the existance of such historical sites thus attracting them. By broadcasting on public platforms: televisions and social media, the government can create awareness in regards to the location and importance of touring such pre-historical destinations. Additionally, this can be done by encouraging public schools to visit museums as part of their curriculum which results in attracting more natives. More so, the entrace fee rates can differ with citizens being charged relatively cheaper as compared to the tourists. This leads to more locals being compelled to visit such destinations as they can easily afford to.

Ultimately, museums and historical destinations should actively be visited by both tourists and locals. Currently, only tourists are spotted in these places and to reverse this negative trait the government should charges locals lower rates since it is too costly for as well as advertise to encourage them to visit those areas so that they are not unknown.