You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In several countries, primary and secondary school students have a summer break for two to three months after finishing one academic year. One of the value from this system is students will be fully recovered upon entering new academic year, since they have a long break to rest. In addition, the long holiday period can increase productivity, as learners can do several activities in their breaks, such as student exchange or short courses, without disrupting their academic matters. However, this long holiday period can lead to a lack of motivation when entering new academic year. Excessively long holiday also can make learners feel bored and unproductive. On the other side, the long study period with only very short breaks makes students burnout and stress, as they need to continue studying for one year without having any proper breaks.

However, some countries prefer several shorter breaks spread throughout the year, particularly every end of a teaching period. This system makes pupils have a proper break after a study period. As a result, pupils will be fully recovered upon entering new study period. Through this system, they can manage stress effectively throughout the holiday. Moreover, shorter holiday makes students stay motivated while entering new study period or academic year, as they have enough break.

In conclusion, both one long holiday break and few short holiday breaks offer several benefits. One long holiday break provides opportunities for resting and personal development, while few short holiday breaks offer proper stress management. The most suitable approach depends on the study system.