You work in a very big office. There is a popular and cheap restaurant in the building. The boss is thinking of removing the restaurant and replacing it with a childcare facility for the working parents in the office. You have been asked to respond to an opinion survey. Why do you prefer your choice? Explain the reasons for your choice. Option A: I think we should keep the restaurant. Option B: I think we should replace the restaurant with a childcare facility.

I am working in this office since last 30 years when it was initially opened. This was an under-developed area in the outskirts of the city with very limited communication. It has employed hundreds of employees and the office canteen is the only place for people to assemble during lunch hours savouring delicious affordable food.

Over period of time, this area has undergone significant improvement in terms of facilities, public transportation and a popular malls in the proximity. A decent number of restaurants opened in the neighbourhood, offering variety of cuisines and options available for the employee. This has resulted in less footfalls in the office cafeteria, even though it still provides most reasonable food.

However, this place is quite distant from the city area and most of the employees are single and working parents, made child care problem paramount in recent days. People have to put their kids to child care near residence while they are at work but conveyance timing is still a major constraint. They need to rush after office hours and increasing traffic create more chaos. They are not able to focus on work and complete extra work before leaving. We understand that food is a an important service but kid care takes priority. In my opinion, company should weigh on converting the office restaurant area to child care.

To conclude, it would be very disappointing for all of us seeing our favourite place closing which makes us nostalgic but when compare to necessity and concerns of our chid care, it certainly gets precedence.