Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, a majority of young people choose to leave their hometown in rural areas, and move to big cities for their work or study. From my perspective, while it has certain drawbacks, I believe the advantages are more significant. In this essay, I will explore why the benefits of youth residing in the city to work or study instead of staying in their rural places overshadow its downsides.

One key disadvantage of studying or working in big cities is the possibility of financial and mental hardship during the course of time they live there. This can be exemplified by the fact that we are living in a modernized world, forcing young adults to attempt to survive in such a competitive community. As a result, this leads to financial burden facing them every single day, along with tension from work, youth apprehension and personal and professional relationships around, rendering them even trapped in a vivacious circle of a complicated society. In the light of that, it can result in misspent youth if youngsters continue working without relishing life during their teenage years. To illustrate, students, especially those who are residing in the city for university or college curriculums, have a tendency to work part-time jobs beside just pursuing degrees in their school to shoulder an independent life. Consequently, they are unlikely to gain work-life balance, in turn, pressure starts to appear in their mind, and gradually increases the chance of depression among young people within their adulthood.

Despite the aforementioned weakness of having a job or studying solely in big cities, I am convinced that there are some notable upsides. In this continuously progressing society, the arrival of young people from their hometown to metropolitan regions offers them a myriad of opportunities to engage in a qualifying working environment, which is challenging to obtain in some rural areas. Because of that, they often demonstrate burning desires to lead a better life in the future, this not only trains their endurance and perseverance, but also help them hone their skills in order to live independently. It is the same for students’ study journey, although the technological advances have made a noticeable shift in our education system, incorporating renovated pedagogic methods especially for higher education, still, being educated in big cities is probably more beneficial with the potentials of infrastructure investment, skilled faculties and modern teaching equipment. This is the reason that explains why in most countries, universities and colleges are mainly positioned in big cities.

In conclusion, although moving from rural areas to big cities for studying or working may bring certain downsides, I side with its advantages, namely experience gain and opportunities to develop holistically. To maximize benefits and reduce drawbacks, appropriate strategies such as government financial help, family assisting policies for students and workers from rural areas.