Young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

In recent years, people have the choice of any location worldwide to study or work thanks to the advances and development of transport. Therefore, there has been a considerable increase in the number of young people abandoning their homes in the countryside to work and be educated in the cities. While this brings many benefits, I firmly believe that they are eclipsed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, travelling to urban areas has undeniably brought many positive effects. Firstly, it has provided the young with various oppportunities to be employed Cities are places which companies build their headquarters at since millions of people reside here. As a result, this creates jobs in various sectors, suitable to individual person’s qualities and needs, and raises employment chances. Secondly, by coming to cities, students can gain access to higher education since there are a variety of top schools located in urban areas. Pupils can broaden their mind with new layers of knowledge that rural areas school cannot provide and increase their chances of having a bright future.

One the other hand, despite the beneficial prospects, challenges still remain. The first obstacle is homesickness. For the first few weeks, the young may suffer from this common type of mental illness because of their not yet matured minds. This can cause them to feel upset and easily get distracted from tasks. The second disadvantage is financial crisis. City living costs and stuying fees are much higher than countryside ones. It will cause the migrants difficulty in paying those costs and lead to unnessecary actions. The last adverse effect of studying and working in the cities is adapting to the lifestyle. Life in urban areas have nothing in common with rural areas and it may be hard for the young to get used to this. If the problems are not dealt with correctly, it may result in consequences.

In conclusion, there are addmittedly some advantages in working and studying in cities. However, detrimental impacts on one’s mental health and lifestyle are too large to ignore.