Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Peer pressure, a common phenomenon appears in most of youngsters, which is caused by the influence of both achievements and behavior of individuals at the same age. This essay will discuss aspects of this phenomenon with logical explanations prior to concluding that the disadvantages outweigh the positive ones.

There are discernible negative effects on young individuals caused by peer pressure. Initially, individuals being under pressure in the long term potentially face severe consequences. Prominent among these problems is the exhaustion, which in turn lead to the negative effects on both mental and physical body such as lacking nutrients and sleep deprivation. The causative factor results in this issue is the great amount of exertion spent by individuals with a view to obtainaing optimal achievements, thereby increasing admiration among people. For instance, in Japan, individuals are required to spend a great deal of efforts on both studying and working; therefore, a significant percentage of youngsters are infected with mental diseases.

Secondly, peer pressure can lead to disoriented mindset of these people. At the early period of life, youngsters tend to be competitive in most aspects of success, to which they strive despite becoming cunning. This problem can lead to numerous consequences in the long term, particularly in their business such as disrespect among colleagues. Moreover, assuming that failure occurs, in all probability, these people will not overcome this situation. In the long term, they potentially suicide due to this failure.

In conclusion, as aforementioned, I wholeheartedly believe that the disadanvatages of this phenomenon surpass the positive one. Relatives, specially parents, should encourage their children instead of putting expectations on them.