Young people committing crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an increasing debate among authorities whether young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults. In my opinion, I hold the belief that while it is essential to hold them accountable for their behaviors, treating them like adults may not be the most effective approach for such an issue.

To begin, advocates for treating young offenders like adults tend to emphasize the importance of accountability and deterrence. They argue that youths can be sent clear messages through several severe punishments. As a result, it could possibly prevent them from partaking in criminal behaviors. Besides, it is believed that holding young people to the same standards as adults could promote fairness and equality in the justice system. Last but not least, it might set prime examples for others, which may help them reflect on their own behaviors to correct mistakes.

However, I truly believe that such a perspective might overlook the developmental differences between young people and the older ones. Firstly, due to the fact that adolescents are still in the process of emotional maturation, both their decision-making abilities and problem-thinking skills could be limited. Additionally, many young people often live in disadvantaged backgrounds like those in slum areas, however, could possibly face difficulties such as poverty or abuse, which may contribute to their involvement in criminal actions. Therefore, instead of punishing them harshly like adults, authorities should not only concentrate more on rehabilitation but also provide guidance to help young offenders learn from their criminal actions and reintegrate into society as responsible citizens.

In conclusion, while it is important to hold young people accountable for their crimes, I believe it would be more beneficial to boost their positive behavioral changes rather than treating them the same as adults