Young people who commit serious crimes, such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is not a surprise that crimes are happening all over the world; however, nowadays young people tend to go overboard, such as murdering and robbery. Some support these youth to receive the same weight of punishments as adults. In my opinion, I disagree with this issue as I believe it is unfair to judge the young.

First of all, young adults are commonly known to make more mistakes than adults due to limited social experience. Whereas, often poor judgment catches up with their wrongdoings. Meanwhile, it is biased to judge their actions without looking at their past. Some people grew up witnessing their parents participate in illegal acts. Instead of punishing the youth, poor parenting should be considered. Thus, inability to judge right from wrong should not be granted a hard penalty.

Furthermore, people are more adaptable to change if taught young. As opposed to heavy punishment, appropriate ones may overturn their mindsets and learn from past mistakes. For instance, it is reported that there is some successful turnover for young criminals when given social work as penalization. Hence, light punishment still has the possibility to change young criminals.

Nonetheless, young people should also not always be restrained from their responsibility. As mentioned above, light punishments are suggested for first-time offenses. Moreover, the government should protect the identity of these people as they are valid to be forgiven by society during adulthood. On the other hand, immediately they are found acting repetitively, no excuse for a light penalty should be presented.

In conclusion, I still strongly believe the young are changeable when corrected and in cases of bad parenting should not be tagged as violent criminals, except if repeated offenses are reported.