00:26:18 Part 1 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In many countries, primary and secondary schools close for two months or more in the summer holidays. What is the value of long school holidays? What are the arguments in favour of shorter school holidays?

In many countries students enjoy long summer holidays so that the students and their families can spend more time together, or they can travel to different wonderful places. While long holidays are preferred by most students, short ones may be considered better for the sake of the academic learning.

In fact, students and teachers need some time to rest after a long year of hard work. They need to stop working for two months to recharge their power and regain strength to be able to continue and be ready to a new year. For example, one of my teachers was used to spend the summer holiday in Alexandria which is a coastal city in Egypt and it’s well known for its great and refreshing weather in the summer. Thus enjoying a long summer holiday is useful for both the teacher and the student.

While some families prefer the long summer holidays, others prefer the short ones for some specific reasons. One of the reasons is the negative effect on the students’ minds regarding their ability to remember what they had learned during the school months. For example, some primary students may forget the multiplication table if they spend a long time without revising it. Therefore, a short holiday may be better for a large number of people.

In conclusion, giving students long summer holidays or frequent short ones is necessary for their mental health and their attitude towards school because it gives them the rest they need and helps to prepare them for the second year.