1. Children are facing more pressures nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?

It is an issue of controversy over the magnitude of learning literature in high school. While people suppose that learning literature in high school is a poor time investment, I endorse the opinion that literature plays an important role in high school.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people contend that learning this subject in high school is the dissipation of time. Firstly, the knowledge of literature is sometimes obsolete and outdated. The reason is that many literaries were written many years ago. Consequently, It is not suitable for contexts in contemporary society. Another key point is some students have a knack for other subjects so they should be encouraged to increase self-realization instead of being forced to learn literature. Therefore, this can assist students to pave the way for career orientation and development.

On the other hand, the redeeming features of learning literature are transparent. To commence with, literature can enable students to enhance their knowledge of language. The reason is that when they immerse themselves in literature, they can absorb new words, expressions, and ideas without even realizing it, followed by their better writing and communication competence. In addition, literature can assist students to gain deeper insight into their country’s history. For example, many Vietnamese short-story and similar works written in the revolutionary era, depict the daily sufferings the common people endured under French and American colonialism. When reading these classics, Vietnamese pupils can not only feel but also vividly visualize the poverty-stricken areas in these historical periods. Therefore, the young generation will attach more importance to their current lives.

In conclusion, while people advocate that learning literature is a poor time investment, I am more inclined to agree that students should be encouraged to focus on this subject.