11) Most school offers some type of physical education program to their students. Why is it important? Should physical education classes be required or optional?

There is no gainsaying the fact that health is substantial in everyone’s life. Owing to this schools have included physical education in their curriculum. While this addition of a new subject has ameliorating benefits, I believe it should be kept as an optional subject.

To commence with, there are a plethora of factors why it is beneficial to keep programs like physical education in schools. The most significant is that it will help children develop healthy bodies. As exercising is the cure for many diseases, involving in some games will help them to stay fit. For example, children should be given 30 minutes to play some sort of game every day after their lunch break, that might be basketball, football, volleyball etcetera. As a result, the digestion system of kids will be improved and they will be healthier. Moreover, children nowadays suffer from problems like obesity and playing games every day will help them cure such issues. In India, for instance, nearly 75% of kids suffer from obesity due to an unhealthy diet and lack of exercise. Hence, doing physical education might help to reduce this percentage and get rid of these problems.

Despite all the benefits, it should still be kept an optional subject. One of the worth considering reason is that there are some disabled kids studying in almost all the schools. Therefore, it might be hard for them to get involved in sports. Furthermore, there are some days when children suffer from problems like fever, diarrhoea or some sort of injury. Thus, it will be tough for children during these phases to join other kids in these programs.

To conclude, I would like to ingeminate that although there are certain praiseworthy benefits of keeping sports programs in schools, they should still be optional due to the above-mentioned reasons.