17. Today the life expectancy of people is much highen than before. Some people think that older people should continute to be involved in the workforce. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People now are living longer than in the past, and it is argued that they should be involved in employment. Therefore, I agree with the given statement that the elderly people should continue to work till a letter age.

There are a number of reasons why I believe that people live longer than ever, and they should work. Firstly, the country’s economy will grow if they work. For developing countries this is very beneficial, as the workforce will contribute towards the country’s economy and the government will need to spend laser on providing the retirement benefits to the senior citizens, such as senior citizen discount, healthcare benefits, travel benefits etc. In addition, increasing the retirement age will help decrease the government burden on providing benefits for the elderly.

Moreover, working till a letter age will be very beneficial to the elderly, at an individual level. They will not need to depend on anyone for their needs. Also, they will be busy and involved in work, which will help to tackle the problems of loneliness and depression among them. These days the family members do not have the time to spend with the old members of the family, which leads the elderly to feel isolated. Increasing the retirement is we will, to a great extent reduce this problem. In fact, If they are engaged in work, they will not be able to consume their depression and thoughts. This is why the elderly should work.

Overall, an increase in the retirement age will benefit the country, the society as well as individuals. Voluntary retirement offers can be set up for those who wish to retire early, due to their health or other circumstances.