A commitment is a promise or a dedication to a cause that others can count on. An aspiration is something we hope to achieve, a wish, or a dream to do something that might seem beyond reach. Describe (a) something that you achieved as a result of committing yourself over an extended period of time and (b) something that you aspire to achieve in the future. (word limit: 400)

I have long been taught about the importance of commitment, but only when failing my high school entrance test did I realize its true meaning and finally gain great achievements afterwards. In this essay, I want to tell my own satisfying story and illustrate a desire to reach in the future.

Firstly, during the ninth grade, I used to be an arrogant and nonchalant person who took studying for granted. The low scores on the test, as a result, were inevitable, and I had to face numerous criticisms from others, a consequence that disillusioned me. Yet when one door closes, another opens, and I am still able to study at Luong The Vinh high school. Therefore, during the next two years, I entirely devoted myself to studying, and, thanks to such dedication, I moved from average to top three in physics and mathematics. Moreover, I not only got nearly perfect scores in other subjects, but I also successfully achieved admirable certificates, becoming a good example of a studious student for others. Although that one experience was tough and hurtful, it became a reminder of being resilient, allowing me to change into a better version.

In addition, after this journey, I am looking forward to my future goals, one of which is contributing to the advent of “smart cities”. The lives of millions in Hanoi, where I come from as well as other cities, are now plagued by insufficient infrastructure and pollution, resulting in extravagant costs and diseases. Realizing that science is the key solution in improving these unwanted situations, I hope to become a pioneer in this field and design helpful tools to assist people’s daily life. Having a chance to study in Vinuni, I believe that I can gain both engineering and entrepreneurial mindset from experienced and dynamic teachers, fostering myself to materialize this dream.

To sum up, I have finished a prioritized aim, and there are now more goals awaiting me to be accomplished. Throughout this journey, commitment taught me persistence, whereas aspiration keeps me moving forward.