A commitment is a promise or a dedication to a cause that others can count on. An aspiration is something we hope to achieve, a wish, or a dream to do something that might seem beyond reach. Describe (a) something that you achieved as a result of committing yourself over an extended period of time and (b) something that you aspire to achieve in the future. (word limit: 400)

As a dream is a goal to reach, a commitment is what keeps people pursuing their ambition, I always prioritize commitment and aspiration in order to keep making my dream come true. In this essay, I want to tell my own hard-working story as well as my desire in the future.

Growing up in a banking-oriented family, I had always geared my future career to the finance and economic field as it was a most stable choice. However, after the Covid-19 Pandemic, I was deeply inspired by the dedication of doctors, who were conscientious to save lives. Additionally, I participated more in volunteering, especially my recent extracurricular session at Thanh An Bui Chu Orphanage, which made me recognize the importance of health to people. These experiences have significantly stimulated me to make a pivotal decision: pursuing Health Sciences and becoming a responsible physician. Thanks to my parents’ support, I immediately embarked on an intensive training period with Math, Biology, Chemistry in order to achieve my first goal: ranked first in these subjects. There was a moment when I was daunted by the complexity of chemical reactions or intricate genetic problems, which led me to self-doubt, however, the physician’s responsibility has pushed me forward. Therefore during the summer vacation, my day was full of online and offline classes, and my self-study time, yet “Rome was not built in a day”, so I keep immersing myself in learning to don that white coat lab.

While I was passionately studying science subjects, I clarified my goal, especially after a truly impressive story about Dr. Nguyen Dinh Hoang, who was accepted by both The College of Health Science of VinUniverisity and Hanoi Medical University. His choice to fulfill his dream at the Department of Anesthesiology in VinUniversity might have come as a surprise for many; however, for me it was not since I have already learned about the mission of VinUniversity. I completely believed that with the mission to train elite humans, who were highly qualified and passionate to contribute to the country, VinUniversity not only was the brilliant choice of Dr. Nguyen Dinh Hoang, but it is also an ideal environment for skilled and responsible doctors to train.

Throughout this period, I realized that commitment is the foundation while ambition is the catalyst that motivates me. Given the chance to learn in VinUniversity would be my pleasure, and above all, it is the most worthwhile opportunity to pursue my dream of medicine and devote myself to the community.