A four-day work week would improve both productivity and quality of life. What is your opinion?

Some people argue nowadays that working four days per week can boost productivity and improve the quality of life. I firmly agree with such a claim because it creates a suitable environment, both at work and at home while alleviating daily stress.

Firstly, one of the reasons why I support this notion is to decrease individuals’ stress. To illustrate further, working fewer hours creates more time for citizens to pursue other activities, such as having a joyful moment with family members, something that is probably not possible in a busy work environment. Accordingly, this trend creates a sense of belonging between families. In addition, this trend ensures that labourers remain calm, without worrying about such moments, thus mitigating their stress. In Dubai, for instance, the Ministry of Happiness has decreased the working hours of people by including more holidays per week. As a result, this trend has helped elevate people’s mood and offered them more time to spend with their loved ones.

Another secondary reason is balancing between life and work environments. A great example would be clearly visible in the Gulf countries, where workers have the best overall quality of life. Residents of these nations tend to work only four days a week, particularly in medical disciplines. I have lived among them and it is clearly evident that they spend a large portion of their free time in meaningful routines, such as reading or writing. Moreover, a considerable number of these workers have started their own business, creating a sense of freedom and financial independence. Hence, working four days a week can help boost individuals’ lives and enhance their productivity, both at work and in social life.

In sum, a four-day work week has numerous advantages in decreasing stress-related work while helping residents become more productive and financially independent.