A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

The question of government spending more to increase defense over social benefits is justified. I agree that ensuring citizens’ safety is paramount, yet this should not completely stop investing in other rights.

Safety is the most important thing for living. The security of citizens must be ensured by the government. The government should raise soldiers and police officers, they should invest in armament in cease the possibility of war with other countries or even civil wars. Citizens need to be safe in every possible way. And the government should work for it.

However, safety is not the only need of humans. the importance of social benefits can not be underestimated. Healthcare, education, and welfare programs are really important to make life better and more livable. The argument that spending less on social benefits is necessary to increase defense can be controversial. Instead of an either-this-or-that approach, a more logical, well-designed strategy that finds ways to make social benefits less expensive can be implemented.

In conclusion, ensuring security is vital, but a balanced plan is a key. Governments can explore ways to make social benefits more economical while continuing to invest on defense.