A growing number of young people are choosing to live in large urban centers rather than staying in their rural hometowns, leading to the decline of countryside communities. What are the causes of this migration and what measures can be taken to encourage people to stay in rural areas?

Rising number of individuals are moving from rural areas to city centers these days rather than staying in their rural hometown, which as a result leads to decline of countryside residents. This is due to substantial opportunities and amenities cities have over villages, and should be adressed by subsidies offered by governments to encourage individuals to live in rural areas.

The general trend of urbanization started in the era of industralization, but still continuing prior to these days. Young people from villages seeking for opportunities inevitably have to move to city where it offers vast majority of activities, which village cannot offer. Hence, rural hometowns eventually will lose its residents and valuable resources it posseses. For example, population of my hometown which is in rural area, located in Karaganda region, has decreased substantially in several years, yielding to new potential residents being averse of living in that village.

To address the issue of massive urbanization and a loss of rural citizens, government should take actions such as promoting sudsidizes for people, offering amenities that offset the negative effect. For intance, country can give free rural land for living or farming by running campaigns. Such action was shown by Kazakhstan, were country has a program that gives 10 acres of rural land for families. As a result, the state of equilibrium was set, and the population of rural areas increased by 30% in 2026 by official statistics.

To sum up, while cities seem as preferred choice by people, government can still encourage its citizens to live in suburbs by promoting subsidies. This action helps to stablilize and maintain countryside population, which maintains the state of equilibrium.