A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

Some people believe that a competitive atmosphere enhances the educational and working process. This topic is very debatable and raises a lot of questions in society. Personally, I think that there are pros and cons of influencing such an environment on the ability to work and study.

On the one hand, in my opinion the competitive environment influences the working process negatively, because people’s level of motivation can easily decrease if it turns out that they are not the best in their group or office. Moreover, the constant race to reach the top in some business can cause harm to mental health and low self-esteem, therefore making the working process less efficient.

On the other hand, a high level of competitive surroundings can be beneficial for some reasons. In some communities it can motivate people to work better and more productively to be first in the rating system or to gain some respect from colleagues and bosses. I disagree with such statements, because I am convinced that competition in university during the educational process is harmful, because it increases my level of anxiety and sometimes I need to take sedatives to calm down before an important exam.

To make a conclusion, although it’s possible benefits , I am still strongly convinced that a competitive environment has a bad impact on the ability to work or to study, since it can be a real threat to the mental health of employees or students.