A highly competitive environment is believed to be good for both studying and working. Drawing on this, what is your opinion on the benefits and drawbacks of such an environment?

The competition is known to be one of the main success drivers in the labor market and in education. This essay will demonstrate how a competitive environment significantly influences the lifestyles of people, while acknowledging that there are some drawbacks to such a social pattern. The essay will argue that the strenuous and stressful atmosphere can help people achieve their goals.

One of the main advantages of being a part of a competitive environment is improved self-esteem. Being around hard-working and confident people develops a person’s inner strength and helps to overcome obstacles in work and in educational organizations. People with a sufficient amount of skills tend to reach leadership positions, and by doing this, they gain new knowledge and experience. Recent studies show that the rating system in universities, where the best students may get awards or compensation, positively influences the level of education of postgraduates.

However, working or studying in a competitive environment can lead to some worrying issues. One of the most serious is the scope of problems connected with mental health. Competition may correlate with the stress and anxiety of people who are willing to reach the highest goals or achieve social approval. This has a massive impact on the nervous system. A good example of a health problem for a career person who is eager only to be top-1 is insomnia or even emotional depression.

In conclusion, although a competitive atmosphere among coworkers or students may sometimes result in mental health issues, it still has an important positive impact on people’s results. In my opinion, a highly competitive environment encourages people to perform at their best.