A large number of students choose to attend university abroad. It is argued that there are several benefits to studying in a foreign country, although others prefer the convenience of going to university in their own country. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It becomes more and more popular for a considerable amount of students to have the option of studying in institutions abroad, while there is the other part that chooses to stay and study in their motherland. This essay will approach the pros and cos to both of these choices before making a decision.

The main advantage of a university student studying abroad is the opportunity to know a new culture. Meeting local people and other foreigners allows people to exchange knowledge on several customs and traditions, ways of thinking and ideas, and exercise on or more foreign languages. Furthermore, studying abroad may offer better education. It is most usual that students choose a more developed country which provides access to better facilities and educational equipment. Although, this can be a significant drawback too. This is because a more developed country, most of the times, has a more expensive life. Higher standard living means higher swages and taxes which results to higher prices respectively.

On the other hand, students who choose to stay and study at their homeland have the key advantage of skipping the language barrier. Using one’s native language makes everyday life and social interactions easier. For instance, studying in your native language makes the curriculum easier to understand and reduces the effort and time put in translations. Moreover, staying in your own country reduces the distance between family and friends which results in saving money and time for transportation. It is much easier for parents and friends to visit or to send packages, as local tickets and fees are cheaper than the international ones. However, the negative points for students who choose to study in their own country may have an effect on their future carries. Generally, it is better viewed from employers’ perspective any experience acquired abroad. This gives them more incentives for hiring because it proves that one has the capacity to work in foreign environments and possesses a betters level of a second language.

In conclusion, students who choose to study abroad may have more opportunities for personal and professional development, but the ones who remain at their own countries have more financial benefits during their student life. In my opinion, everyone must take a serious look at their own situation and the capability they have to cope with each point of view before they make their choice.