A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is common knowledge that countries spend large sums of funds in search of oil. Oil plays a crucial part in our day-to-day lives but it is also important that money is adequately assigned to other important matters such as developing new sources or natural sources of power. We will now see why it is important to spend on developing new sources of power.

There are many sources of power contributing to pollution such as the burning of coal in industries to generate electricity. Pollution is a major problem we as a society face today, this not only harms the environment but also negatively impacts people’s health. Pollution is a major contributing factor to different types of health-threatening diseases. Air pollution has been an issue in many parts of the world and with this are decreased amounts of birds than we did ten years ago, we need to emphasize how important this is to wildlife as if this continues it could endanger many species of birds, In addition, with lack of natural sources of power we experience extreme amounts of pollution which leads to global warming. Global warming has been extremely visible over the past couple of years, for example, how our winters aren’t as cold as they used to be. We must take measures to minimize global warming as it could have impacts such as health issues, droughts, loss of species, etc. If we could spend more money on developing new sources we could prevent spending large amounts of money that will be needed to be spent to take care of a problem that arises with issues such as pollution.

However, oil is important for the majority of day-to-day activities we encounter. Therefore, we need to be respectful and use it with care.

In conclusion, we only have one earth and we need to ensure that we hand the future generation a better earth than what was handed to us.