A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Discovering new sources of oil is a very expensive business. Some people feel that since oil is a finite resource, it makes more sense to find new alternative to it. I strongly agree, that more resources should be diverted to the development of new sources of green sustainable energy.

The discovery of new fossil fuel sources will harm our ecosystem in a catostrophic way. Since the world is massively dependent on fossil fuel, new sources are contantly searched to replenish the old dying ones. Research shows the new possible locations usually in protected areas like Alaska or Siberia, which are mostly virgin land. Such establishments will derail the delicate natural ecosystem, introducing man and its crooked pollution to these untouched corners. In addition to that we need for transport big pipe systems, which often are prone to leaks and repairs, adding more harm.

Few countries have started to invest enormous amount of money and resources to develop sustainable energy. The successful taping of wind, solar and tidal energy is done. More sources should be researched and developed. Mass demand and hence production of such resource lowers the cost subsequently, which can help poor nations to utilise the technique. For instance, Germany produce 60% of its energy in a green way, majority by using wind energy. The use of solar voltaic cells a decade back was very expensive, not affordable by everyone. Nowadays, Berlin governemnt promotes putting solar cells on building roofs to promote the production of solar energy, subsidising it and enabling mass production as a means to decrease the cost.

In conclusion, to prevent the harm done by the establishment of new oil rigs, it is advisable to find more sources of alternative energy. I totally agree with this and believe that mass production is the way to allow poor countries to benfit from these innovations.