A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is known, nowadays our entire society is heavily reliant on fossil combustibles, as oil, gasoline or gas. Most of the industries and their production depends on petroleum, since industrial revolution. Moreover, we all know this resource is limited, so that the world and the whole civilization must to move towards renewable energy. In this essay I will discuss these matters and will conclude with a personal position.

To commence, it cannot be denied that big international companies invest huge amounts of money searching for oil. However, this natural resource will eventually run out. The oil is the most economical energy resources in these days, so its usage is accepted worldwide. However, there is no doubt, and there is evidence, that fossil combustibles are extremely contaminating.

On the other hand, governments are investing a lot of money in developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar, which have demonstrated their efficiency and low cost of maintenance. Some countries have moved a large part of their power production, toward most cleaned sources of energy, such as Germany, Denmark and Sweden. Thus, private companies and government need to work together and do efforts and invest financial resources on developing new sources of power.

In my opinion, society will be oil-dependent for a few years, due to it will take time to change production systems to more efficient ones and less contaminating. Whilst private and public sectors must to invest money searching and developing renewable energy looking to the future to whole humanity.