A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries in the world, tourism has become one of the pillars of economic growth, but along with the benefits, it can bring about issues to the local community. It is worthwhile to investigate it approaching from both sides, and I personally hold the view that the interest of tourism outcasts the downside of it from the economic perspective.

Firstly, the main issue associated with travellers is that not every one of them is law-abiding. This means that some of them do not act in accordance with the law of the country and often commit crimes such as use of drug, violence, and sexual assaults. For instance, it is reported that many tourists travel to Thailand for the sole purpose of finding prostitution, or hunting for teenage girls as a sex predator.

Although that potential problems can be caused by visitors, one should recognize that incidents caused by foreign visitors are inevitable, and it would be wrong to neglect the enormous economic benefits they bring about. Foreigners often travel abroad to spend money on resorts, hotels and restaurants. As a result the money injecting into the economy provides sustainable streams of income to employees which helps improve their living conditions dramatically. Take the example of Bali, a small island in Indonesia attracting millions of visitors all over the world due to its spectacular tropical scenery, generates over two billion USD of income annually. Without tourism industry, local people would have struggled to make their living since it has neither natural resources nor high value-added industries.

To conclude, albeit the fact that tourists do potentially sabotage the safety of a country, they nevertheless contribute significantly to the host country by boosting its economy.