A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Dp you think that the benifits of tourism outweigh it drawbacks?

Many locations around the world depend on tourists as a significant source of income. However, tourism can lead to many disadvantages if not controlled properly. Some advantages of tourism include representation of the country and increased funds. On the other hand, tourism can also lead to environmental damage as well as increase in crime. In this essay, we will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism.

Tourism can improve the image of the country as travelers can experience its culture and people. The only way to understand a country’s culture, people and geography is by visiting it in person and tourism greatly facilitates this. For example, Malaysia has become one of the popular destinations in southeast asia due to the multicultural peoples and the variety of the food. Generally, travellers spend a lot of money in the place they visit which facilitates the local economy and ensures governments allocate more funds to support the local population. Malaysia is the perfect country to demonstrate my point. Over time, more and more people have invested in the economy that made the country one of the wealthiest countries in the world.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to tourism as well. Firstly, many tourists forget to take care of the local environment when they visit, which leads to pollution and environmental degradation. For example, many famous beaches and outdoor facilities are covered with garbage, damaging the beauty of the region. Secondly, there is a correlation with foreigner visiting locations and an increase in crime. This usually happens because foreigners are not aware of common places in certain areas that are usually used by people to scam and make visitors uncomfortable to revisit and recommend it to their friends.

In my opinion, tourism brings more positives than negatives. It can boost the economy in certain places to increase the local people’s income. Moreover, by implementing effective solutions, we can ensure that the drawbacks have limited effects.