A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Dp you think that the benifits of tourism outweigh it drawbacks?

Tourism has become one of the fastest-growing industries in the world, significantly contributing to many countries’ economies. However, some drawbacks are equally considerable when it comes to people’s safety and cultural conservation. While international travel has a large quantity of downsides, the advantages still far outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the excessive influx of visitors often leads to overtourism, which results in a number of community issues. Such problems include many social maladies that can pose a threat to people’s safety, such as theft, scams, and even kidnapping may occur in such crowded destinations. Besides, overtourism also causes cultural dilution and the gradual disappearance of traditional values when local customs are commercialized to serve visitors. To make matters worse, the constant travel results in environmental damage due to the carbon emissions from modes of transportation. Also, the littering from the vacationers’ carelessness makes vibrant streets lose their appeal. To illustrate the environmental damage from tourism, famous coral reefs, for example parts of the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and Thailand’s Maya Bay, have suffered severe damage from tourist activities, pollution, and rising sea temperatures exacerbated by travel-related carbon emissions.

On the other hand, the benefits of tourism are undeniable. It enhances local quality of living, accommodations, and infrastructure. Restaurants, souvenir stores, and entertainment centers built for tourism services provide more job opportunities for local people. In this way, indigenous people have chance to expose to new technologies and learn solutions to develop their hometown. Moreover, tourism allows visitors to immerse themselves in diverse cultures, distinct customs and the daily life of the indigenous people while helping to promote national heritages to the world. A case in point is Ninh Binh has been widely recognized as one of the top 10 destinations in Vietnam and has received many prestigious awards from international organizations and websites, notably top 10 most attractive experiences in 2024 in the world.

To conclude, while tourism’s booming poses several problems to people and the environment, its advantages contribute greatly to economic growth and cultural exchange. Therefore, with proper management and awareness of people, the positive impacts of tourism clearly outweigh the negatives.