A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently, people are being accounted for their social status and the things they own. Some people believe that characteristics such as honour, benevolence and trust aren’t considered decisive categorizing a person. However, I totally disagree with the statement. Three arguments for the disagreement and a counter argument are explained in detail below along with the conclusion.

The media (e.g. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) makes it look like, what everyone wants is materials and online profiles but the truth is totally opposite. For example, they always tend to show highlights of celebrities’ lives. In reality, that is not how they spend their everyday life. Most people see what the media shows them. As a consequence, people feel qualities such as honour, being humble, etc. aren’t as important as they used to be. My friend thinks, if he has more friends on his social media profile, he will be considered social. He keeps checking his phone’s notifications and count Facebook reactions all the time. Sad part is, he thinks because of an article he read online. In a nutshell, it’s not an individual’s perspective on values but the media’s forced and faulty influence.

It can be concluded that, values such as honour, humbleness and trust, which are old-fashioned, are important rather than things an individual possesses. The reasons for the same are the influence from the media, people’s misunderstanding of the concept and assumptions made by individuals. A world full of people believing in values and ethics will make this a better place to live.