A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is argued that people are judged these days by how much money they have rather than their morals and character. I totally agree with this statement. This essay will first discuss how people instantly judge others by what clothes they wear or products they own, and then suggest that a lack of traditional values in celebrities demonstrates that being a good person is not held in high regard by society.

People seem to hold someone in high regard if they have designer clothes, a luxury car or the latest smartphone, and rarely look inside that person. This superficial attitude is common in all walks of life, whether it be how a store attendant treats customers in a shop, or what someone might think of applicants when interviewing them for a new job. For instance, at most restaurants, people who wear business suits are treated with more respect and courtesy than those who wear casual clothes.

This is also reflected in our celebrities. Most singers, models and actors have neither talent nor moral fibre, but they are still revered because they have a high position in society and seem to have a luxurious lifestyle. Miley Cyrus is a prime example; she does not write her own songs and openly confesses to taking drugs, yet she is still adored by people all over the world.

In conclusion, I believe that being a good person is not as important as wealth, fame and where someone is on the social ladder these days, and this can easily be seen by how we treat those with no money and how we look up to vacuous stars.