A serious problem affecting countries right across the globe is the lack of water for drinking, washing and other household uses. Why do many countries face water shortages, and what could be done to alleviate the problem?

A major issue is that affect many countries around the world is the shortage of water for essential household needs which include drinking, washing and cleaning. This problem might be worse due to various reasons. In this essay, I will explain why so many countries are facing water shortages and suggest some possible solutions for tackle that.

Climate change is one of the main cause of water shortages. Many places are facing less rainfall in long period of time, which low the amount of water available. Consequently, lakes, reservoirs, and rivers wither. Overpopulation is another factor. The demand for water rises in areas where the majority of people live. There is not enough water in many cities to meet demands of their increasing populations. Last but not least, people often waste water by using excessive amounts cause of everyday activities, which result of unnecessary water loss.

We need to establish several steps in order to solve these issues. Firstly, people should change their habits for consuming less water. Reducing waste can be achieved with easy steps like turning off taps and using water saving devices. Secondly, water systems should be improved by governments by fixing old pipes and installing systems to store rainwater. By doing this, water loss can be avoided and adequate water can be available for everyone. Finally, countries which near the sea that can use desalination technology to turn seawater into drinking water .

In conclusion, water waste, population growth, and climate change are the main causes of water shortages. However, by saving water and improving water systems, we can reduce the impact of this problem.