Access to clean water is a basic human right.Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge

Having access to fresh clean water has become a rising global concern, creating contrasting viewpoints. Consequently, people are divided into whether purified water should be supplied to every household without any charge or not. I totally agree with the former one due to the significant importance of purified water in public health and the negative impact of buying it by the public.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that fresh clean water plays a vital role in enhancing public health both in the city and rural areas. In other words, contaminated water is the main cause of illness and spreading diseases, leading to premature fatalities in some serious cases. Most of the developing countries including Indonesia are suffering from a shortage of purified water. In some areas, people drink water with a huge amount of lime, and as a result, they suffer from kidney-related health issues. If clean water projects had been successfully carried out by the government and other local organizations, such problems could have been mitigated.

In addition to this, when purified drinking water is bought and stored in house specially in the urban areas, people suffer negative consequences. For a family with low income, the expense of purified drinking water adds a significant portion to their monthly expenditure, making burden for breadwinners. On the other hand, carrying them in plastic bottles via lorries under direct sunlight has been another concern for consumers. The expensive drinking water can be turned into unhygienic water doubling the potential health risks. If the government and urban engineering departments could set up national clean water project and everyone had access to hygienic clean water through taps, public heath could be promoted as well as financial burden of community citizens could be reduced.

Some critics may point out that the whole project can be time-consuming, expensive, and there are still some areas the government should prioritize. However, nothing is more important than public heath and increased life span. If we see New Zealand, where everyone can safely drink tap water everywhere, it is clear that it is a valuable investment.

To conclude, clean water should be a fundamental human right and the one the government should pay attention due to its countless benefits. However, instead of the government alone carrying out the mission, there should be cooperation of the public, companies and non-profit organizations.