According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world- wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

The Internet has revolutionized the way we connect to others, providing instant access to people and information from around the world. While this digital shift offers many opportunities for communication, there are growing concerns that excessive Internet use may weaken our real-life social bonds. I agree with the view that over-reliance on online interactions can adversely affect the quality of in-person relationships, both physically and psychologically.

On the one hand, over-reliance on the Internet can weaken essential social skills. Digital interaction fails to convey nonverbal communication such as body language and eye contact. This can make people less confident and comfortable in normal circumstances, as they are used to the online environment. For example, some people will struggle to maintain eye contact with an opponent’s eyes during a formal meeting because they are accustomed to communication via text messages. Furthermore, constant exposure to screen may decrease emotional understanding due to the lack of physical presence. As a result, users may feel awkward when communicating in real-life, which can take a toll on their mental health.

In addition, using the internet excessively increases the risk of developing health issues. Prolonged screen time causes eye strain, back pain, and other problems. Indeed, the sedentary lifestyle of long hours spent online often leads to more severe problem like obesity and depression. Recent studies show that young people spend over 7 hours daily interacting with screens, from smartphones to computers and TVs. This heavy screen engagement has detrimental physical and mental health consequences, including higher BMIs, insomnia, anxiety, and depression. Constant exposure to digital life disrupts biological rhythms and establishes abnormal sleep patterns, which ultimately lead to serious health degradation.

In conclusion, while Internet offers global connection, excessive use of it can harm face-to-face engagement and raise health concerns. The impact on social skills and both physical and mental health should be balanced between online and offline. Individuals should carefully consider the negative aspects of screen time to ensure their overall health and strengthen their connections.