ADVANTAGES DISADVANTAGES ESSAY 1 Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it is commonly observed that life expectancy is becoming longer than in the past.

Certain individuals claim that an aging population causes inconveniences for administration; in contrast, others consider that there are pros to having seniors. While the old population’s mindset is based on stereotypes that were relevant decades ago, I strongly believe that they possess more life experience and that there are more benefits to having them.

On the one hand, elderly people can share their experience based on their long lives. Furthermore, they are often called “tradition keepers,” as they often remind young people of various beliefs and preserve their culture. Additionally, the elderly population frequently undertakes voluntary work; for instance, my grandmother cooks in shelters for refugees, while she also makes camouflage nets that help soldiers to mask themselves on the battlegrounds.

On the other hand, some elderly individuals can be perceived as grumpy and scandalous due to their rigid views and deeply ingrained stereotypes. This can result in conflicts with the younger population, particularly when it comes to matters of self-expression, such as colored hair, cosplay, or unconventional makeovers. These intergenerational disagreements may contribute to societal tensions and a lack of mutual understanding. Another thing to add is that elderly people must receive pensions, and the government should find more money to finance the lives of the elderly.

In conclusion, even though an aging population makes some people uncomfortable or provokes discord, I am convinced that older people make their contribution to our society by reminding us of traditions, history, and by being our advisors, despite their stereotypes