ADVERTISING DISCOURAGES PEOPLE FROM BEING DIFFERENT INDIVIDUALS BY MAKING US WANT TO BE AND LOOK THE SAME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Incessant advertisements nowadays bombard individuals with similar products, leading to identical shopping habits. This has instilled a heated debate over whether it is true or not. In my perspective, I totally agree with the aforementioned disposal.

Admittedly, advertising does not solely contribute to the general taste of purchasing. It is obvious that the saturated market has limited the consumers’ options and driven them to buy the same items. Iphone serves as a prime exemplification of this when it releases a series of homogeneous versions of Iphone 11, a prototype which was mostly imitated by other power houses. Consequently, the purchasers are exposed to similar products; therefore, they cannot help but do the same as others. This showcases another compelling cause discouraging people from being unique.

However, promotions play a more integral part in motivating customers to adopt similar behaviors in shopping. By appointing famous influencers to endorse items, their fans might be willing to clear out the stock without consideration of its novelty. For instance, Jungkook, a famous K-pop artist, caused a run on Balenciaga jackets since he served as the brand ambassador, highlighting the power of advertisements on people. Furthermore, the common practice of marketers is creating new habits of purchasing for potential clients who nonstop seek for new lifestyle concepts. By this, they make this new habit become the norm.

In a nutshell, in spite of modest contribution of mass-producing, advertising appears to be the biggest motivation behind shaping consumer’s behaviors with several identical patterns.