Advertising encourages people to buy things they do not really need. Is this a positive or negative trend?

People are being persuaded to buy things they do not wish for because of how advertising influences them. Despite the advantages this trend brings, I believe there are some downsides behind it.

On the one hand, there are several benefits that advertising persuades people to buy things, and one of these is automatically suggestion. It is well known that advertising is often popped up before people purchase things, which provides people with more options to buy and choose ones that are suitable. For example, advertising can help people to find most of their clothes instantly on websites with just a pop up. As a result, more and more people begin to think that advertising is the best way to let people know the products widely. Another thing is that people are reliable to them because advertising offers them numerous goods and services. Therefore, the benefit of advertising satisfies people’s wishes and they would completely acknowledge their decisions. In many cases, TikTok often understands its users by monitoring their FYP pages and specific hobbies, which means that the platform gives users suggested products that customers might need.

On the other hand, advertising can be a problem if it encourages people to buy wasted things because it has frequently existed. Many people believe that advertising sometimes advises people to buy new items due to seller’s demand, especially when those are not preferred. Eventually, people might waste lots of money buying those by being attracted to fancy advertisements. Additionally, advertising offers things that are trendy, which means that advertisers are encouraged to follow upcoming trends in order to uplift their sales. However, this results in abandoning items that are truly necessary, which people should buy instead of perceiving useless things. For example, advertising has done a great job in offering people a trend of wearing simple and comfortable clothes, while many think that they need formal clothes also to go to work since advertising only brings them home-based clothes.

In short, while advertising can be a good way for people to find their needs and the dynamic tools that people are dependent on, I am of opinion that advertising needs to dig further into people’s preferences and avoid unnecessary suggestions.