Air pollution in major cities is becoming worse. What are the causes and solutions?

In recent years, air pollution has turned into one of the serious problems in cities. This concerning situation can be primarily attributed to the increase in vehicle emissions and also industrial emissions. However, there are certain steps that governments can take to address this issue.

There are a number of contributing factors to why the air quality is getting worse. One obvious reason for this is increasing number of private cars on roads. Since most vehicles use petrol and diesel, they release high levels of CO2 and toxic gases into the atmosphere. Furthermore, industrial emissions could be another root cause of this challenge. For example, factories burn a high amount of fossil fuels and release harmful gases and smoke into the air, which significantly contaminates the surrounding air quality and causes a number of illnesses among the people.

Despite the severity of the problem, there are certain measures that could change this situation. The first feasible solution to this problem is to improve public transportation such as busses and metro systems, which are helps not only for decrease air pollution but is also beneficial for people’s budgets. In addition, governments should provide subsidies for eco-friendly cars. If this measure were implemented, it would encourage more people to switch from petrol cars to green energy. Moreover, governments should set stricter laws for companies and make exceeding emission limits for them. As a result, harmful fumes would decrease significantly.

All in all, although these problems present multiple challenges, the government should alleviate by making several stricter rules and improving public transportation.