Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years there has been a significant development of air traffic that leads to air quality deterioration. Opponents argue that this trend may be reduced by means, such as taxation, while others consider this a great opportunity for further sustainability. I personally strongly disagree with this opinion because air traffic is one of the main ways to allocate money.

Considering one side of the argument, the bigger taxation to the air traffic will lead to economic knock-on effects and will damage the tourism-dependent economies. Consequently, the tourists usually prefer airports and planes as they are one of the most convenient means to reach a preferable destination and it contributes a seizable sum of money to the economical wealth of the country. Not to mention, the airport in Singapore that became one of the landmarks of the country and significantly improved the country’s economic prospects.

At the same time, air transport leads to ecological degradation and leaves environmental footprints. Taxation will reduce some unnecessary short-haul flights that will result in reducing carbon emissions that greatly affect global warming. First thing to remember is also the comfort of those people living near the airport, so that noise and emissions greatly influence their health. Thus, leads to irreversible consequences which in the future life can not be overcome by any other conditions.

To sum up, taxation is not of the utter important effectiveness means towards fighting against air traffic. The development of this type of transportation has more pivotal advantages rather than drawbacks. With careful planning of airports and creating some new greener aviation technologies, the convenience of people and lower air pollution will be achieved leading to the prosperous and friendly society.