Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport construction. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been rise in the air transportation due to the technological advances. Despite the great importance of such evolution, there are some negative impacts on the environment such air and noise pollutions. Therefore, some people claim that there should be some rules to mitigate its harm effects. I strongly stand with that, and through this essay, I will discuss these negatives alongside the potential ways to alleviate them.

To begin with, recent scientific discoveries has aided to evolve airplanes and their navigation systems, leading to decrease the risk of possible air-accidents and expenses as well. This has led to more harm impacts on the environment because of the increased air flights. When there are more flights, more noise and air pollution could be caused. Moreover, this force countries to build more airports, which could be invasive on some agricultural lands. This sometimes can cause habitat loss of some species that may have detrimental effects on the overall community. Therefore, if this practice is still growing without restrictions, there will be unstoppable cycle of harms on both humans and the environment.

These effects have pushed some governments to find out some practical means to mitigate these harms. Firstly, they could increase oil prices, which would increase the price of flights. Secondly, investing in their local infrastructure by building new roads and providing well maintained public transportation network. For example, in European countries, a strong railway network is used more frequently than airplanes because of its decreased cost as well as the means of comfort. Therefore, by providing some alternative ways, more and more people may incline to environmentally friendly options.

In conclusion, after discussing the possible dangers and proposing some ways to alleviate these harms, in my opinion the great responsibility is on the government shoulder.