All children should be made to wear school uniforms. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As long as children are sending to schools, there has been a culture that students should have a dress code called uniforms. However, the type of dress varies in different countries, but there is a same belief that students have to wear a same dress. However, I strongly believe that wearing uniforms are absolutely a good choice for students for three reasons.

The first reason is competition between students. Even though, some might argue that schools could determine dressing limits by establishing laws, I still believe that allowing students to wear various dresses will make competition between them to wear the most beautiful and most expensive dress they have. Besides, students are guessed to force their parents to buy them new dresses for school, due to this competition.

This brings me to my second reason, which is reduction of the ability to concentrate and focus on studying. Engaging students’ minds with trying diverse clothes every day, will distract them from their main responsibility at school, which is studying and learning. For example, the students tend to spend their weekends, which are their golden times to review lessons that are taught during the week, to go shopping or scrolling websites for online purchase.

The most obvious reason why students should wear a uniform, is undoubtedly the high cost of wearing and buying different dresses instead of one fixed uniform for an educational year. While I concede that many students think that two sets of clothes will not cost that much, I still feel that it is an extreme pressure on parents, especially those with more than one child. Parents only pay one time for a uniform, and that will be the only payment for a year and also they will not have struggle with their teenagers with their never ending desire of shopping new stuff.

In conclusion, not only it is too expensive to buy and wear different clothes regularly, but also it has a negative effect on students’ focus on their courses to think about what to put on each day unlikely to wear a constant uniform every single day. Therefore, despite students’ instinct desire to wear differently for their school, I believe that the best way is to define a dress code for school and make students wear a uniform.