All children should study a foreign language in school starting in the earliest grades. To what extent do you agree or dis agree with this statement?

There is a common belief that children ought to start learning a second language as soon as they enter school. I fully support this idea, as early exposure to another language brings several meaningful benefits to children’s cognitive and social development.

First and foremost, the golden moment for humans to learn a new language is childhood. This is attributed to the fact that they can easily adapt to guidance and become responsive to understanding it effectively. For example, children are capable of imitating speech from their adults exactly, leading to enhanced efficiency in language learning. Moreover, when they make a decision to study a second language, it can foster their discipline and perseverance. That said, it takes a huge amount of time to explore and thoroughly comprehend in order to put it into practice, such as listening, writing, reading, and communicating. By doing that, children can improve themselves more positively, resulting in their becoming calmer when struggling with challenges.

On the other hand, learning more than one language can give them more opportunities to apply it in academic standard environments. As of now, a large number of universities concurrently train their students in foreign languages like English or Chinese. Consequently, acquiring foreign speech as familiar behavior will become an indispensable part of learning in most well-known universities. Furthermore, mastering a foreign language can enable young people to confidently interact with foreigners, particularly with teachers or even international tourists. That can be seen when you are accidentally required to support a tourist asking for directions; you are well-prepared to instruct them in detail. Additionally, when you take part in a conference in the company of foreign participants, you can feel comfortable and assured, showing them your knowledge and expertise about professional issues. This can impress other people like managers, directors, or recruiters so as to provide career advancement for them in the future.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language from the beginning of one’s schooling can bring a wide range of benefits that greatly support children’s overall development. Therefore, I believe that encouraging early language learning is a highly effective approach for their future growth.