All large companies should provide sports and community facilities to the local community. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A school of thought suggests that all big businesses should be responsible for providing local communities with sports and community facilities. I completely disagree with this perspective, as doing so will make companies suffer financially, and governments, rather than businesses, should bear this responsibility.

Firstly, most large companies in the world often operate on considerably low profit margins, making it unprofitable for them to spend money on matters that are outside of their businesses. Because building sports and community facilities requires significant funding and does not concurrently translate to profitability, businesses often encounter financial losses in the process. An exemplary case is Vin Group, a Vietnamese corporation that recently constructed many schools and stadiums across various local towns in Vietnam. The company’s latest financial reports indicated substantial losses due to their engagement in these projects.

Secondly, this responsibility should be put on governments rather than private companies. Governments’ purpose is to take care of people, and if large businesses keep doing the job for them, they will get accustomed to it, resulting in authorities neglecting their citizens’ needs. A pertinent example is countries in Africa, where most sports centers and community buildings were funded by private organizations. As a result, African governments keep relying on these companies instead of making efforts to take care of their people and develop their nations.

In conclusion, building sports and community facilities should not be the responsibility of large businesses because it would put them in financially disadvantageous situations. Instead, governments should be the ones who are in charge and fund these projects since their job is to care for their citizens and develop their countries.