All over the world, people watch foreign film much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial support to local film industries?

Nowadays, foreign movies have been popular in the world due to some advantages for people. Meanwhile, local movies are unpopular for several reasons. There are some reasons why authorities have to fund locally produced movies. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss some problems arising from this situation and possible solutions.

There are several reasons why foreign movies have become favorites in the world. One of the primary reasons is that societies can learn about language, especially English. It is evident that more and more individuals prefer to watch foreign movies than local films because they could evolve their skills like language. Moreover, young city dwellers reside in large cities, they want to continue study abroad in the top universities in the world. Regarding this, they watch movies in order to increase their skills such as speaking and listening. A case in point is in the capital city of Indonesia, most young individuals are fond of foreign new films owing to the fact that they get more information such as western culture and language.

Apart from this circumstance, local feature films witnessed drawbacks as they can rarely be funded by government. Although, since the modern era, authorities could handle a lot of money to make progress for local filmmaking. Firstly, authorities create regulation and law enforcement funding for locally produced films. It is proven that governments wish to grow local movies as they should contribute to the country. Secondly, increasing local filmmaking can be more beneficial for a country like getting awards for international making movies as well as appreciation by citizens. To illustrate, in China, the president is appreciation for local making movies as it may lead to progress for a country.

All in all, foreign movies have become popular nowadays and give several benefits for societies. Despite this situation, Authorities can tackle some problems like funding a lot of money, creating a policy and law enforcement for growing locally produced films.