All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think that schools should teach children specific skills but others think that having a range of subjects is better for a child’s future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that parents simply want what is best for their children and their future. Although some believe that schools must educate children on skill development, some may argue that providing a range of subjects would best benefit their future. In my opinion, I think prioritizing skills over subjects in schools would bring about the best outcome for children in their later years.

Firstly, engaging students in developing their non-academic abilities can greatly benefit them as they progress in life to best prepare them for the real world. There are many things that students will have to eventually experience such as getting a job, making new friends, managing expenses and travelling to different countries. If individuals are not well equipped with the skills to accomplish these tasks, they would not survive as these are all essential pre-requisites to living independently. Other than that, giving attention to skill training can greatly aid children as this gives them the confidence to face life after school. Thus, schools should prioritize teaching children the skills that can give them the foundation they need.

Some may advocate for schools to provide a variety of subjects with the belief that knowledge is power. People may make the claim that the more subjects schools teach, the more knowledge children can acquire which should, in theory, open more doors of opportunity for them. While this may be true to some extent, this approach can also backfire. Although the goal of adding more subjects to the curriculum should, hypothetically, make more knowledge accessible to students, it could end up presenting itself as just more work for students to do. This, in turn, could lead to mental burnout which would impede academic motivation.

In conclusion, while both sides bring up valid, logical arguments, ultimately, schools should shed more light on honing and developing a student’s skills outside academics rather than inoculating more subjects into the syllabus to provide children with the best opportunities in adulthood.