Alternative energy resources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Resources for generating energy are depleting day by day, which is forcing people to find alternative ways of providing electricity. However, renewable energy, such as electricity generated by wind, waves, and sun, is not as cost-effective as the traditional method. I think, even though installing the aforementioned new methods is costly now, this will become affordable in the future.

On the one hand, producing energy by solar panels and wind turbines is expensive for some reason. Firstly, the technology for installation of those new systems is not available everywhere. The reason behind it is that most countries around the world are not able to produce them as these nations lack professionals to manufacture or use them. Another factor contributing to the outraged price of renewable energy is repairing them when they fail to work. Mechanics who do this job might be not educated enough to understand these state-of-the-art technologies. These factors are the main contributors to why renewable energy systems are not affordable for all people.

As the coin has two sides, the replacement of traditional means of producing electricity supply has advantages as well. When televisions were initially invented, their price was not suitable for ordinary people. As the number of manufacturing factories increases, the competition among those companies leads to lower prices of new inventions. The same thing happened with televisions, and it is highly likely to happen with new energy sources as well. In addition, people pay monthly payments for electricity. However, when people make purchases for solar panels or wind turbines, they are freed to pay those bills, which in turn saves a huge amount of income.

In conclusion, although renewable energy generated by sun, wind and waves proves costly on its surface, they might be considerably cheaper than traditional modes of power systems in the future.