Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws should be introduced to control car ownership and usage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether substitute transportation methods and global regulations should be introduced to control ownership of cars and their usage is a controversial one. Although these issues have catalysed the upgrade of our lifestyles, they have caused certain social problems. However, an analysis of both views cautiously reveals that these changes have contributed to developing socio-economic structures.

First of all, I will discuss the disadvantages of using alternative transport instead of private vehicles. For instance, there will be no freedom for individuals because they can’t go anywhere according to their wishes. Besides, car industries will decline, and it will affect the economy. As a result, the unemployment problem will increase.

On the contrary, there are many benefits of substitution transportation. Firstly, traffic systems will improve while car numbers decrease. Hence, crowds on the roads and highways will decline, as well as traffic jams will reduce. Therefore, environmental pollution may be controlled. People’s health systems improve; eventually they can lead a better lifestyle. Using public transport will help them to develop economic conditions, and these give rise to education, research, and so many facilities.

Comparing both views, I find that the advantages are more compelling than the concerns. For example, using cars will cause congestion and make more accidents on the roads, while public transport has to follow the rules and regulations strictly. Another problem is that the excessive use of private vehicles increases air and sound pollution, which causes health issues such as lung diseases, auditory problems, etc.

Hence, I conclude that awareness should be spread all over the world about the overuse of cars. However, I suggest that the government should take necessary steps to prevent the concerns, such as establishing taxation to buy cars and training people how to drive carefully on the roads. I also suggest that the government should campaign to make people aware.