Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws should be introduced to control car ownership and usage. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s globalized world, an enormous increase in the number of personal cars turns out to be a significant issue. Some argue that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and some international laws may be introduced to control this dilemma. I completely agree with this perspective and the reasons will be provided in the essay below.

Firstly, environmental challenges we face in our day-to-day routines play a pivotal role in shaping this viewpoint. Today, many aspects of life are face to face with these kind of issues, concerning about future generations. A huge quantity of cars in urbanised areas contribute to this problem. It’s quite ubiquitous that there are traffic congestions and jams during rush hours of a day, which is the most relevant time for these vehicles produce sufficient smoke that have enough potential to question the future of humanity by damaging ozone layer, polluting air and much more. However, if the usage of other means of transportation was trigerred, it could potentially have decreased such negative externality producing road activities as well as detrimental effects of them. For example, in my city, Baku, the Baku Transportation Agency adopted an act aiming to motivate public transport by decreasing fees and costs.

Secondly, individual owners may enjoy the best performance of newly constructed structures within a country. The overusage of these vehicles on roads might damage the infrastructures which had been aimed to cover several decades, preventing future generations from being satisfied with them. Consequently, this scenario also requires measures to implement in order to limit their usage to some scale. Moreover, through an increasing trend in the number of public transport passengers, governments are able to gain extra funds, pooling them in the budget and using to improve road infrastructures. Additionally, one of the ways might be to introduce new laws to societes to control private ownersip. For instance, a law regarding additional delivery fees for countries with over certain level of ownership, to which vehicles are transferred from overheads of manufacturing companies.

To conclude, I totally agree that some alternative options being available in traveling matters of people as well as newly adopted laws could provide solution to potential damages of the extended car usage to the environment and infrastructure.