Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, This often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people assume that the more you work, the more you earn money. To determine a successful of a country economically, it needs to measure the average income of the society. On the other hand, this can lead people to be suffering from negative social impacts. I disagree with the topic, due to the time spending on working days would not determine the success of a country, as well as the negative consequences in social are not depending on it.

First, being productive is one of the way to success. Productive is not related to working time, it is related to working effective and efficient. There are countries that spend more days of working but they are less successful comparing to others, such as Indonesia. Indonesian workers spend almost 9 hours a day and 5 days a week, moreover there are people who work even longer. While there are countries with just a few days of working but richer, for instance Germany. They spend only 3 to 4 hours a day. In addition, there are countries with a long working day, for example Uni Emirates Arab which has 9 hours of working, but they are more economically successful. However, success of a country is not depending on long average working day, but from how well they manage the working time to be more productive, effective and efficient.

In other ways, negative social impacts can be happened to anyone, not only who has longer working days but also who has a few working hours. People might easily get stressed or mentally ill by the job that is not correlated to their passion, pressure they have, or insufficient salary they earn. As a result, it is not about the duration of working that resulted negative consequences, but any other cases can be the reason of the issue.

To sum up, successful of countries is not determined by the length of working days, and negative social impacts are not the result of spending more hours to work. Additionally, productivity is the key of success, while stress or mental sickness can be the result of unpassionate job, pressure, or unworthy income.