An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

In today’s society a serious problem that has been overlooked is overweight among children which can lead to many health problems and a financial burden when they grow up. If someone points out that a child is obese, society often blames that person and claims that the child is just healthy. This essay will analyse the reasons for why many children are overweight and also the solutions to this problem.

One significant reason for this trend is, the current food habits. From a very young age children are provided with junk and fast food which are unhealthy, and gradually children generate an addiction towards these kinds of food. Consistent intake of these foods is the primary reason for obesity as this food only contain high sugar, unhealthy fats, refined carbohydrates and very high calories instead of nutrients. Moreover, the sedentary lifestyles of the kids are also a reason. Children nowadays spend excessive time on screens. As a result, they engage less in physical activities that help burn calories, which increases the risk of obesity. Finally, the adults are oblivious to the difference between being healthy and being obese. Parents often feed their children even when they are full, insisting that they must eat more to stay healthy.

Obesity among children is a serious issue if not treated it can be steeping stone for many diseases in future. Therefore, in order to tackle these issues certain methods have to be adopted. To begin with children should be taught to follow a healthy eating pattern which contains all nutrients required for their growth. Secondly strict restriction on the screen time of children and they must be encouraged to engage in physical activities. Furthermore, awareness classes should be organized for parents from the governments side to educate about obesity and its consequences on children.

In conclusion overweight among children has become common now but still people are not taking it as a serious issue. If all the solutions mentioned above are practiced we can help our children to come out from obesity if not we have to see our kids struggling in the future.